March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 2345 67
8 9101112 1314
15 161718 192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Friday, March 6th, 2026 08:42 am
I'm just not managing to stay on top of any of the fandom trends.

Still haven't watched K-Pop Demon Hunters, or Heated Rivalry, or even Bridgerton S4...

I'm not bothering with Marvel (they're dead to me, like all the best characters in the franchise) and there's not much else that particularly interests me.

As usual, I mostly lack someone to watch things with. I'll watch movies that I'm only marginally interested in with friends, but I've never been a 'rewatch' kind of person - even in the background. Too many things to do.

--

Actually, I'm just not managing to stay on top of ANYTHING right now.
Friday, March 6th, 2026 12:30 am (UTC)
Sad empathy your way, in the same boat of a sort.
Friday, March 6th, 2026 01:40 am (UTC)
*hugs*
Friday, March 6th, 2026 09:21 am (UTC)
TBH I've been feeling like this for a while too. I used to be better about keeping up with fandom trends when I was a teenager, but nowadays I'll see something being talked about, think to myself "huh I might watch that" and just never doing it.

But also, do we really have to be keeping up with fandom trends? Especially nowadays when trends in general go by so quickly.By the time you finish writing a fanfic about it, everyone has moved on to the new shiny thing. It's just not fun IMO! So I've just given up on it and watch/read/etc. to whatever I feel like whenever I feel like. I don't get to be swept up in the manic fandom energy but I also feel more free to enjoy a piece of media without the pressure to keep up with ongoing discussions and memes and so on.

As for keeping on top of real life stuff... yeah, that just straightforwardly sucks. Can't even find the silver lining of it, there is none.
Monday, March 16th, 2026 01:42 pm (UTC)
Yeah I have given up on the trends, sad for my incoming fic game lolsob. I did enjoy K-Pop Demon Hunters - though I watched it WAY behind the curve, but it wasn't enough to make me want to write yet. The other two I haven't had much desire to get into aside from reading fic for the latter as friends write it lol.

The only "new" thing I've really enjoyed recently is the One Piece Live action. The husbeast and I have been very sloooooooooooooooowly working our way through the anime over the past few months and thought trying the live action version would be a nice change of pace and it's actually been a delight. It definitely tightened up the story telling and plot which is nice, though I think I would have preferred 13 ep seasons instead of only 8. But its one of those ridiculously over the top shows which just WORKS bc everyone is taking the ridiculous absolutely seriously, you know what I mean?

And from a "I watch for the plot" side of things, I've been quite delighted with the sheer amount of equal opportunity fanservice. There were a lot of shirtless dudes in the anime since it's a shonen, but I was not expecting the live action to go for it quite as much. The casting director clearly enjoyed themself is what I'm saying lol